AIDS Athens

AIDAthensAIDS Athens was founded by a group of Athens residents who attended a forum on AIDS at the University of Georgia in February 1987. The group initiated AIDS Athens later that year, and received nonprofit 501(c)(3) status two years later.

In October 1995, members of AIDS Athens approved changes in the structure of the organization and renamed it the AIDS Coalition of Northeast Georgia, as the organization grew to serve clients living in 10 Northeast Georgia counties.

In August 2004, the AIDS Coalition was renamed AIDS Athens to emphasize the reaffirmation of its mission to serve all local people infected or affected by HIV/AIDS.


AIDS Athens, Inc. serves to address the needs of individuals infected and affected by HIV/AIDS through supportive services and to prevent the spread of the disease through education and outreach.


AIDS Athens exists to enhance and enrich the quality of life for those living with HIV/AIDS, as well as their friends, families and partners. The organization also seeks to effect a fundamental change in society’s attitude toward persons infected with HIV/AIDS.

Service Area

AIDS Athens serves 23 counties in two Public Health Districts of Georgia. The Northeast Health District (District 10) service area includes: Barrow, Clarke, Elbert, Greene, Jackson, Madison, Morgan, Oconee, Oglethorpe, and Walton counties. The North Health District (District 2) service area includes: Banks, Dawson, Forsyth, Franklin, Habersham, Hall, Hart, Lumpkin, Rabun, Stephens, Towns, Union, and White counties.

AIDS Athens AreaFor more information on our services or to contact us directly, please visit our website.